Aura's Den



RSS Feed

Aura's 2024 Goals

Posted 25 January 2024

Normally, this is where I'd talk about bad shit that happened last year and that I expect of this year. And, well, it is an election year here in the States, so...

Continue reading "Aura's 2024 Goals"

Keywords: Personal

Aura's 2023 Goals

Posted 15 January 2023

Oh, boy, here we go again! It's (two weeks after) the end of the year! Time to increment that arbitrary number once more! (I swear I wrote this on time, but didn't post it...)I mean, what can I say? The year wasn't completely awful?

Continue reading "Aura's 2023 Goals"

Keywords: Personal

PSA: How to Save a Life — CPR and Cardiac Arrest

Posted 29 November 2022

TL;DR: If someone goes unconscious or is complaining about symptoms of a heart attack, call for an ambulance; if they go unconscious, you should probably do CPR; if you're doing CPR, you may also want to get an AED if possible; and overall, you should definitely take a CPR class if at all possible.

Continue reading "PSA: How to Save a Life

Keywords: PSA

Every Instance of Pronouns in the United States Constitution

Posted 27 July 2022

So, some seemingly notable dumbass posted to Twitter that there aren't pronouns in the constitution, so, inspired, here we go. Every single instance of pronouns in the US consitution.

Continue reading "Every Instance of Pronouns in the United States Constitution"

Keywords: Language

Aura's 2022 Goals

Posted 18 January 2022

Ahh, new years, that wonderful time of year where we celebrate incrementing a number on a calendar! Isn't it great? At long last, we've gotten out of the frying pan that was 2021 and into the fire that is 2022! Oh. Wait.

Continue reading "Aura's 2022 Goals"

Keywords: Personal

PSA: The Gift of Life — Blood, Marrow, and Organ Donations

Posted 01 December 2021

TL;DR: If you are at all able, you should be giving blood, registered to give marrow, and registered as an organ donor. These are absolutely vital acts that save lives. Seriously, go register tomorrow and try to give blood within the next few weeks.

Continue reading "PSA: The Gift of Life

Keywords: PSA

A follow-up to my last blog post

Posted 15 July 2021

So, there are a couple of things I want to talk about in regards to my last post here. In particular, I have one thing I want to add to my whole message to older queers, and then have some messages for younger queers.

Continue reading "A follow up to my last blog post"

Keywords: Hot takes, Queer shit

Getting involved in queer discourse: A hesistant hot take

Posted 01 June 2021

You know, I really didn't want to have to do something like this. I mean, come on! It's the first day of pride month! We should be celebrating! And, yet, here I am, at 13:00 on the 1st of June, having to write up a blog post calling out what I see as shitty behaviour. Good going. So, yeah. What's happened this time? Well...

Continue reading "Getting involved in queer discourse: A hesitant hot take"

Keywords: Hot takes, Queer shit

Aura's 2021 Goals

Posted 01 January 2021

Happy New Year! We've finally gotten out of the hellhole that was 2020. Unfortunately, since the arbitary incrementing of a human-designed calendar is unable to fix problems by itself, we're now in the likely hellhole that will be 2021. Honestly, we've found ourselves going, "Thank god the old year is over," so many times over the past 5 years that my expectations are dead. I'm coming into this year expecting it to be even worse than the last, so if it's not, I can at least be happy about that.

Continue reading "Aura's 2021 Goals"

Keywords: Personal

Adventures in Conlanging - Electronic Cataloguing

Posted 06 December 2020

I like conlanging. Quite a bit, actually. To date, I've worked on no fewer than 7, with a few more that never quite got past the phonology and maybe some very basic grammar bits. Most of this has been done on paper, with notebooks upon notebooks dedicated to various conlangs I've worked on at various points in time. But writing dictionaries on paper can be... inconvenient, to say the least. It can be difficult to find a given word, figure out how similar a word is to an existing word, alphabetize things, or add stuff to an entry after adding others after it. So, for this reason, I prefer to do digital cataloguing. What follows here is some of the various systems I've used and my thoughts on them.

Continue reading "Adventures in Conlanging - Electronic Cataloguing"

Keywords: Adventures in Conlanging, Language, Software

English Writing Reform

Posted 19 August 2020

This is a subject on which I have thoughts. Shall we go over them?

Continue reading "English Writing Reform"

Keywords: Language, Proposal